Media Release: John Hargreaves MLA, 26 March 2008

Minister for Territory and Municipal Services, John Hargreaves will today reveal the 2008 ACTION Network ’08 final plan at ACTION’s Customer Service Office in the City Interchange.

“For the first time in 10 years, ACTION has undertaken a full review of bus services in Canberra,” said Mr Hargreaves.

“In 2007, ACTION recruited the services of an internationally recognised transport planning firm, McCormack, Rankin, Cagney to conduct a comprehensive service review and plan known as Network 08.”

“Between November 2007 and January 2008, ACTION released the proposed plan to the community for comment. The feedback received was collated and reviewed. As a result of the feedback, modifications to the plan have been made,” said Mr Hargreaves.

“I thank ACTION staff and our consultants for their hard work and I also thank Canberran’s for their patience,” said Mr Hargreaves.

“It is now time for us to reveal the complete and final plan, which I am confident is the right plan,” concluded Mr Hargreaves.

The final plan is available for viewing at all ACTION Bus Interchanges and online at

The changes are detailed in the table below:

Area ChangedDescription of Change after Community Consultation
Gungahlin– Routes 51, 52 and 59 continue to the City during peak hour.
– New Route 59 extends to Forde.
– Routes 4 and 59 now extended to Belconnen all day.
Giralang– Route 30 travels to the City all day.
McKellar– Route 52 travels via William Webb Drive, Evatt to Belconnen Interchange.
O’Connor– Improved coverage through O’Connor on Route 6.
Cook/Macquarie/Aranda– Improved direction – Route 10 now travels anti-clockwise to the City.
Belconnen to Dickson– Direct service between Belconnen and Dickson on Route 7.
Campbell– Improved coverage along White Crescent, Campbell on Route 9.
Curtin– Xpresso service to City reinstated as Route 732.
Weston Creek– Xpresso service Route 729 revised and an additional service added in the morning.
– Improved services to Canberra Hospital and Phillip.
Tuggeranong– Improved coverage along Chippindall Circuit, Theodore.
– Revised Xpresso Routes 768 and 769, commencing from Calwell shops.
– Xpresso Routes 785 and 787 will not divert via Tuggeranong Interchange.
– New Route 786 to Brindabella and Fairbairn Park.

View original media release on Internet Archive

This page was last updated on 26 March 2008